How to Delete a Gmail Account Permanently?

Your Gmail account will be permanently deleted if you wish. You will delete your Gmail account and all the messages in it, but still keep your Google account, Youtube, …

So think carefully about what you are doing. Deleting your Gmail account can lead to serious consequences.

Preparation before deleting Gmail account

Note: When you delete a Gmail account, you will not be able to recover the password of the account that you use that Gmail account to register as a Facebook account … so please consider carefully before deleting it.


Why You Might Need to Delete Your Gmail Account

There are a few reasons why you should delete your Gmail account.

  1. You suspect someone is hacking into your account.
  2. You get too many junk emails, unwanted advertising messages.
  3. You already have another Gmail account.
  4. You are afraid of others knowing your personal information.
  5. etc,…


If you’ve decided that you want to delete your Gmail account, follow the steps below.

How to delete a Gmail account details by image

Step 1: Visit the following link:

Step 2: Click the Sign In button at the top right corner of the page.

Step 3: Sign in with the Gmail account you want to delete.

Step 4: Select Delete your account or services under Account preferences.

The Google Account Preferences screen

Step 5: Click the Delete products option.

Note: You CAN NOT select the Delete Google Account and data option if you do not want to lose access to all your Google accounts (including your search history, Google Docs, Youtube, AdWords and AdSense as well as other Google services).

Next, please re-enter your password.

Re-enter your password

Step 6Click the trashcan icon () on the right of Gmail.

Select Trash icon to delete Gmail

You will be prompted to type an email address to use other Google services, such as Google Docs, Youtube, AdWords and AdSense, Google Drive,…

Then click the Send Verification Email button.

After you’ve typed the new email, Google will ask you to verify your Gmail deletion, please click on GOT IT in the lower right corner.

Click the Got It button

Step 7: Next step, you will have to access the mailbox of the email just entered above.

Click the confirm link

Open the Google message sent to you, click the link to confirm deletion of Gmail account.

Tick the box Yes, I want to permanently delete … Then click the DELETE GMAIL button.

Once your account is deleted, the screen now looks like this:

Click the DONE button to finish deleting your Gmail account.

Note: Once your Gmail address has been deleted, your mailbox will be closed and you will no longer be able to send and receive emails….

… all content in it will be permanently deleted and you will lose access to your email address within 24 hours.